Friday, 7 February 2014

Sequel in 'Fairyland' series now available

The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland
and Led the Revels There

By Catherynne M. Valente

A restless imaginative power unlike anything else in contemporary fiction...”

The second book in the series, The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There is a delightful modern fairytale about the courageous September and her quest to the kingdom of Fairyland-Below.

Described as “A glorious balancing act between modernism and the Victorian Fairytale” by bestselling and powerfully creative author Neil Gaiman, Catherynne M. Valente’s Fairyland series introduces the young September and her breathtaking adventures to Fairyland.

It has been a long time since young September bid farewell to Fairyland and she is excited to see it again, but upon her return she is shocked to find that her friends have been losing their shadows, and therefore their magic, to the kingdom of Fairyland-Below... It spells certain disaster and September won't stand for it. Determined to make amends, she travels down into the underworld where, among creatures of ice and moonlight, she encounters a face she recognises all too well: Halloween, the Hollow Queen. Only then does September realise what she must do to save Fairyland from slipping into the mundane world forever.

Solve the mystery and find the lost shadows... But be careful. Even the best of friends aren’t always what they seem ...

Praise for Catherynne M. Valente:
Get swept away by this charming book” Vogue
Pure escapism” Bliss
A charming modern fairytale...” Telegraph
Valente is making new myths right now, before our eyes. Don’t miss this show”
Time Magazine

About the Author
Catherynne M. Valente is a New York Times bestselling author whose novels have been nominated for the Hugo, World Fantasy, and Locus awards. Her children's novel, The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making debuted at #8 on the New York Times Best Seller List. Its sequel, The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There, featured at #5 on Time Magazine’s Best Fiction of 2012 list. She lives on an island off the coast of Maine.

Taiga and Neep, two Hreinn of Moonkin Hill

The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Let the Revels There by Catherynne M. Valente is published by Constable & Robinson and retails at R150.00. 

For more information, visit

No comments:

Post a Comment