Monday, 7 October 2013

Record breaking number of entries for Cartoon Network’s Animation Generation!

Overall winner to be given airtime promoting the brand new fifth season of 
Adventure Time on Cartoon Network

Animation Generation, the exciting, nationwide initiative by Cartoon Network, celebrated its 8th year in South Africa with a record breaking 13 021 entries. The initiative is a drawing competition, which promotes illustration and celebrates the imagination of many talented young South Africans in schools across the country.

Enhle Majola's winning entry

The overall winner from this year’s competition was Enhle Majola from Lyndhurst Primary School in Kwazulu-Natal. Her artwork of her character Skilo Pop Fighter impressed the judges with its highly original design and name.

Her drawing will be fully transformed from a one-dimensional drawing into a fully animated character which will be broadcast on air to promote the brand new fifth season of Adventure Time premiering on Cartoon Network, DStv channel 301, in October.

The theme for this year’s Animation Generation was Adventure Time and students were encouraged to design and create an original hero or heroine, villain or villainess to join Finn, Jake, Princess Bubblegum and Lady Rainicorn as they travel through The Land of Ooo on unusual and bizarre escapades.

1900 primary schools across South Africa were invited to participate and children between the ages of 6-14 years old joined in. Entries were judged by the creators of Adventure Time – Adam Muto, Supervising Producer and Kent Osborne, Head of Story – amongst others.

Creativity plays an integral role in the development of all children and Cartoon Network’s hit comedy Adventure Time is all about letting your imagination run wild. This is the perfect pairing. The aim of this year’s competition was to give students the opportunity to harness their natural creativity and the entries did not disappoint – they were original, exciting and of an exceptional standard. We were extremely pleased with the huge number of entries this year. This project we care a lot about here at Cartoon Network”, said Tal Hewitt, VP and GM of Turkey, Middle East and Africa for Turner Broadcasting System.

Winners in each of the age groups (6-8 years, 9-11 years, and 12-14 years) walked away with some amazing prizes, some of which were iPads, Blackberrys and iPods. The overall school with the most entries was Marianpark Primary School which received R10 000 from Cartoon Network to enhance the art facilities at the school in order to further improve creativity of their students.

The winners in the three age categories were:

6-8 years
  • Gold – Enhle Majola – Lyndhurst Primary School, Kwazulu Natal
  • Silver – Razaan Meyers – Parkhurst Primary School, Western Cape
  • Bronze – Surelda Roberts – Laerskool Mikro, Western Cape

9-10 years
  • Gold – Phanaso Zondi – Lyndhurst Primary School, Kwazulu Natal
  • Silver – Nqobile Mngadi – Lyndhurst Primary School, Kwazulu Natal
  • Bronze – Theron James – Greenheights Primary School, Kwazulu Natal

11-14 years
  • Gold – Danielle Rothwell – Bedfordview Primary School, Gauteng
  • Silver – Caitlin Davies – Bedfordview Primary School, Gauteng
  • Bronze – Theveshan Chetty – Brailsford Primary School, Kwazulu Natal

All the winning artwork will be displayed on

To watch the new amazing fifth series of Adventure Time tune in to Cartoon Network, DStv channel 301, every Monday from 7 October at 17h55 as part of Cartoon Network’s “Mighty Mondays”, with repeats on Saturdays at 10h00 and 14h35.

Press release courtesy of ARCAY Burson-Marsteller.

No comments:

Post a Comment